EXECUTIVE DECISION RECORD 24 MARCH 2023

EDUCATION, SKILLS & WELLBEING CABINET BOARD

Cabinet Members:

Councillors: J.Hurley (Chairperson), S.Harris

Officers in Attendance:

J.Burge and S.McCluskie

1. APPPOINTMENT OF CHAIRPERSON

It was agreed that Cllr J. Hurley be Chairperson of the meeting.

2. CHAIRPERSONS ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Chair welcomed everyone to the meeting.

3. **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST**

No declarations of interest were received.

4. PUBLIC QUESTION TIME

There were no questions received.

5. APPOINTMENT OF LA GOVERNORS

Members were provided with an overview to each vacancy and a brief background to each applicant.

Decisions:

To appoint LA Governor Representatives to existing vacancies and vacancies that will arise up to and including the end of the Summer Term 2022/2023.

Abbey Primary School

Appointment of Cllr. Mike Harvey as of 1st September 2023.

Blaenhonddan Primary School

Appointment of Mr. Paul Gwilliam with immediate effect.

Central Primary School

Appointment of Mr. Mike Thomas, as of 1st September 2023. Appointment of Mrs. Suzanne Amos, as of 1st September 2023.

Crymlyn Primary School

Appointment of Mr. Howard Davies, as of 1st September 2023. A typo error has been noted from the report, which states Jones as opposed to Davies.

Dwr-Y-Felin Comprehensive

Appointment of Mrs. Gemma Addis-Fuller, with immediate effect.

St. Joseph's Catholic Junior School

Appointment of Mrs. Jessica O'Callaghan, with immediate effect.

YGG Castell-Nedd

Appointment of Cllr. Alan Lockyer, as of 1st September 2023.

YGG Cwmnedd

Appointment of Mr. David Trefor Jones, with immediate effect.

YGG Cwmllynfell

Appointment of Mrs. Nia Cole-Jones, with immediate effect.

YGG Rhosafan,

Appointment of Mrs. Laura Hutchings with immediate effect.
Appointment of Mrs. Claire Abraham, with immediate effect.
Members were in agreement to put Mrs. Lianne James forward for a Community Governor post.

YGG Tyle'r Ynn

Appointment of Cllr. Helen Ceri Clarke, as of 1st September 2023.

Ysgol Bae Baglan

Appointment of Mr. Roger Williams, with mmediate effect.

Ysgol Maes Y Coed

Appointment of Cllr. Nia Jenkins, with immediate effect.

Members were in agreement to defer the following vacancies due to no applications being received to date.

Abbey Primary School x 1 vacancy
Baglan Primary School x 1 vacancy
Coedffranc Primary School x 1 vacancy
Creunant Primary School x 1 vacancy
Cwmnedd Primary School x 1 vacancy
Eastern Primary School x 1 vacancy
Tonnau Primary School x 2 vacancies
YGG Blaendulais x 1 vacancy
YGG Pontardawe x 1 vacancy

6. **URGENT ITEMS**

The Chair had been informed there was a late application received from Cllr. Dan Thomas. With the Chairs permission the application was accepted.

Decision:

To Appoint Cllr. Dan Thomas as governor of Gnoll Primary School from 1st September 2023, with the removal of Mrs. Lesley Matthews.

CHAIRPERSON